Drucken zoom

Recognising service...

In the nature reserve region, there are numerous communities whose mayors and residents are committed to the sustainable development, and a more liveable future, of their cities and villages.

In order to exchange information among each other, and promote our region to the public, the Neiderlausitzer Heidelandschaft Nature Reserve has been advertising the “Nature reserve community of the year competition” since 1999.

All cities and communities with settlement areas located within the nature reserve can participate. Districts can also take part in the competition independently. The awards ceremony is held at the annual nature reserve festival, which takes place in the winning community from the previous year.

The following criteria are taken into account when selecting the winning community:

  • practical implementation of ecotourism
  • preservation of cultural and natural heritage
  • village renovation according to ecological principles
  • community involvement in the surrounding landscape
  • support of ecological farming processes, and the regional marketing of products
  • association activities

Previous winning communities

1999 Grünewalde

2000 Oppelhain

2001 Döllingen

2002 Maasdorf

2003 Theisa

2004 Werenzhain

2005 Grünewalde

2006 Lugau

2007 Maasdorf

2008 Buchhain

2009 Rückersdorf - Reigning champion community

The Nature Reserve Community of the Year competition in the Niederlausitzer Heidelandschaft Nature Reserve is supported by the Sparkasse Elbe-Elster savings bank.